Embarrassing: Spot My Mistake!

vagmg100Recently, I made a mistake (typing away here on the blog) I’m telling you all the time you shouldn’t make!! The person who spots it first (and explains here and/or in class) will get a copy of The Vagina Monologues! 😀

Clue: it’s one of the posts posted bt Nov 26 and 29…

This entry was posted in Contest, Language Questions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Embarrassing: Spot My Mistake!

  1. Jesús Alba Amador says:

    I’m not sure but I think it’s on “Quintos: first Dec week” posted on November 29, 2013.

  2. MF says:

    Hi, Jesús! Let me know which you spotted. I was not thinking of that post, though.

  3. Jesús Alba Amador says:

    Sorry Michelle, but I think I am in the wrong. Maybe the mistake is the “s” of plural in “40 year dictatorship in Spain” posted on November 29, 2013 Languages in Spain

  4. Jesús Alba Amador says:

    I read again “Languages in Spain” and I think the mistake is “THAT” . (that were needed after the 40-year dictatorship in Spain).

    • MF says:

      Hiya! Replying finally!
      Nope! “that” here is a relative pronoun (“which” would be the formal option) and it’s the subject of “were needed”, so that’s why there is no chance it could be omitted!
      Hope this is useful! 🙂

  5. Jesús Alba Amador says:

    Sorry Michelle, it’s again me. I think that after “Today” _ in “Today J. told me after class….” posted on November 29, 2013 :Quintos: first Dec week” _ we need a comma, because today is not the subject of any verbs.
    If it’s not the mistake we have to spot, then I think it will be “one after the other” _ posted on Nov 28, 2013 : why should we hold a discussion….” _ I think we have to say “one after another” instead of “one after the other”.

    • MF says:

      Oh! I’m sorry! No…
      neither of those are mistakes.
      Time clauses opening sentences do not need commas. You can add one, but it’d be a bit too much!
      One after the other, and One after another are two ways of saying the same thing.
      🙂

  6. Jesús Alba Amador says:

    Sorry but I forgot to tell you that it’s in the paragraph that starts: “The exercise to manage a discussion…..”

  7. MF says:

    Dear Jesús (5b):
    Whatever happens, if no one finds out, it will be you for all your hard work!!! 🙂
    Let’s see what happens! I’ll reply to your guesses soon! Let us wait a bit in case more people post! And keep guessing, if you like! 🙂

  8. Jesús Alba Amador says:

    Here I am again trying to spot the mistake. May be I put my foot in it and I am in the wrong again.
    I hope not to be given a faiI at the end of the course because of this.
    “I’ll try to give you all your November writings checked next week.” Posted November 29, 2013 , Quintos: first Dec week.
    The English grammar says that we can’t use will to talk about what we have already decided to do.
    So, we have to use a present continuous or going to.

  9. MF says:

    Oh! 🙂 Nope! “I’ll try” is a prediction (or a promise?)…
    I understand you are joking when you say “I hope…”, right? 😀
    Think about sentence structure and a COMMON mistake Spanish-speakers make… particularly when they use a CERTAIN verb!
    😉

  10. Jesús Alba Amador says:

    Thank you for the second clue.

  11. Jesús Alba Amador says:


    “In Y5A the other day we managed to speak about religion without hurting or offending anybody. It was just a little discussion, though.”
    posted November 28, 2013 Why should we hold a discussion on a sensitive issue?
    Talk about instead of speak about.
    This is my last try, unless you give us another clue.
    How difficult is English sometimes!

    • MF says:

      Well done! You found a mistake I made!!!
      But it’s not the one I had in mind… So… people, keep exploring!!

      Anyway, a copy for you, Jesús! I certainly insist in you all using “talk” and “speak” correctly! Congrats!

  12. MF says:

    I’m still laughing my head off about the fact that I bought second-hand copies of… The Vagina Monologues!!! Not the best title for anything second-hand, really!!

    But remember —

    Don’t look a gift horse in the mouth!!!

    😀

  13. Jesús Alba Amador says:

    I think that I finally find the mistake.
    For Tercero: about absentism and our course
    Posted on November 27, 2013
    “If this course were/was costing you €300 euros a month, do you think you would come to class?”
    cost is an abstract verb and cannot be use in continuous tenses.

    • MF says:

      Hiya!
      Nope! It’s true that “cost” cannot take the continuous form in sentences like “How much does that cost?” but the verb has more uses, both literal and figurative, when the “cost” is continuous in time, for instance, if you keep putting money in a project, like a house, you can get sentences like “How much is that house costing you?!”.
      But it was a good try! 🙂
      Enjoy your copy! 😉

  14. J.C. says:

    Hello! I think i found it!:
    “For Tercero: about absentism and our course
    Posted on November 27, 2013 by MF
    Today we had 7 people in class, where we should’ve have 22 from a total of 32 — yes, there are 10 people who I have never even seen! Why don’t THIS PEOPLE cancel their registration?!”

    Is not THESE people instead of THIS people? It’s easy: This is used for singular words and These for the plural.

    PD: Where’s my book? 😛

Leave a Reply

