learning new words: vine

Yesterday, in Y3C, thanks to A., I learned a new word! Vine! — it’s not “vine” as in “grapevine” but probably a different word; otherwise, it would be a new meaning for “vine”.
Here, check the first entry with the new meaning: the urban dictionary.

It’s not in regular dictionaries (and dictionaries in English are very good, because they are descriptive, and English-speaking countries don’t have Royal Academies of the Dead Word), so it must be quite new… ?

This came up when I wrote down “grapevine”. Yes, peeps, I was saying I was not sure, but I was right: vine comes from Latin, actually wine comes from Latin too.

NEWS!!!! This word stared being used in 2013 when a new app was released, Vine. So it’s a different word to “vine” (grapevine). It comes from the name of a trademark, which is an eponym!

 

This entry was posted in Language Questions and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to learning new words: vine

  1. carolahand says:

    (Just so you know, Michelle, it’s actually a fairly common word that been in usage for all my life — and it’s in my old abridged dictionary. My unabridged dictionary lists it as Middle English, Old French in origin.)

    ( As a child, I used to swing from the vines that grew on the trees in the woods behind my house. Ever the child with my head in the clouds, I didn’t always pay attention to my surroundings, and of course went crashing into the tress that anchored the vines more than once 🙂 .)

  2. MF says:

    Hi, Carol! Yes, you mean “vine” as in “grapevine”. Before Old French, it was Latin.
    But I was referring to the new meaning is related to videos showing funny moments, or something like that. Check out the urban dictionary. It’s there!
    But thanks so much, I really appreciate! Learning a language is a never-ending endeavor!!
    Big hug! ❤

  3. michelle says:

    OK, I’m going to edit the post and write “I learned A NEW MEANING of an OLD word” so it’s clearer. Thanks!

  4. michelle says:

    Woops! No, no! I wrote “new word” because I suspect it has a different etymology, or explanation of its origin. I’m trying to find out. I’ll let you know!

  5. michelle says:

    Oh, wow! Got it! It’s an eponym, the name of a trademark, an application!
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vine_%28software%29
    “Vine debuted on January 24, 2013 … In a couple of months, Vine became the most used video-sharing application in the market … Vine enables users to record short video clips up to (at introduction) six seconds long”

Leave a Reply

