What we did on the first lesson after the break

In Quintos, we reviewed a few Speaking Strategies and language points. This is just a reminder for the people who came. Conversations about the holidays

Ice-breaking questions vs Follow-up questions
Did you have A good holiday? / How were your holidays? / How was your holiday? vs What was that like? / What was he/it like? / What about your holidays? / What about yours? / What about you?

Present perfect vs Past simple
I’ve had a lovely holiday vs I had a lovely holidayThe weather has been really good vs The weather was really good
(On the List of Mistakes here, you’ll find post on tenses which you might want to read again.)

Monitoring your language / mistakes
Tenses
: visualize the time chunk your sentence is in.
I went to T. I had been to T. before, but this time… Have you ever been to T.?
I often went to the beach. The weather was astounding.
I often went to the beach. The weather has been astounding.
Enjoy & Like need an object.

Improving your language range
modifiers: a two-day holiday
to be, to stay – to spend some time/a few days/a week with
to go on a day-trip / on an excursion
to go – to drive, to fly
to go sightseeing

I’ll check it out on the internet
I’ll google that.

Speaking strategies

  • Using two sentences in your turn (paraphrasing, or  meanings that are very close): Great. I had a great holiday. / I stayed in F. But I had the chance to spend some time with my friends. / We went sightseeing. We went for a walk first and then visited some tourist sites. / Congratulations. I’m really happy to hear that / I’m really happy for that. / I was really busy. I did a lot of things.
  • Presenting your messages first more generally, so you give your partner the chance to ask for more specific information. I had a great time. I went on a day-trip to T. + then more things about the trip. Allow your partner to ask. / I was really busy. I did something different every day. + then the different things.
  • Making questions instead of listening in silence. What did you do there? / Who did you go with? / How long did you stay? / Where did you go? / Did you like it? / Did you enjoy that?
  • Making “following you” comments like: Congratulations! / I really love that. / Oh yes, I hate that. / How wonderful! / I see. / I understand. / I see what you mean / Oh, I’m sorry about that.

 

This entry was posted in Exams, Language Questions, Learning2Learn, Reminders and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

